Date: 01-06-24  Time: 18:57 pm

Author Topic: Anyone else had problems finding neutral?  (Read 3001 times)

River Valley

• DAS Born Again
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • - DRZ400
    • View Profile
    • www.river-valley-guest-house.co.uk
Anyone else had problems finding neutral?
« on: 25 May 2012, 09:22:25 am »
Mine is a gen 1, 2001, with 35000 miles. I know that Yams are known for notchy gearboxes (especially compared with Suzukis, which I've mostly had in my biking years), but this one seems particularly bad, especially trying to find neutral when coming to a stop. I've many years of experience with bikes that are 'reluctant' to engage neutral, so am well versed with the 'gently nudging it into neutral just prior to stopping' routine, if you know what I mean, but it rarely works with this one.  The age-old trick of turning the ignition off and restarting, always sorts it, but I don't want to be forever doing that do I!
I'm wondering whether there is a problem that I need to investigate?
Greyhounds Make Great Pets!

Tmation

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone else had problems finding neutral?
« Reply #1 on: 25 May 2012, 01:15:59 pm »
Try raising the idle speed a little to about 1350ish IIRC and/or come to a stop in first and blip the throttle and snick it into neutral.  Mine does the same and it works foe me.

alan09

• Brainless Foccer
    Foccin' Grumpy
  • Club Racer
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 25 May 2012, 01:35:29 pm »
just to say ive never had this problem with mine it goes into neutral without any problem at all. my idle speed is set at 1100ish.

Falcon 269

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - Yamaha R1 1999
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 25 May 2012, 02:06:45 pm »
If you can't resolve it with clutch adjustment, it might be the clutch shaft end plug issue:

http://www.yamahafz1oa.com/forum/showthread.php?t=59420

PaulSmith

• WSB Pack Hound