Date: 01-05-24  Time: 06:59 am

Author Topic: brake disc and pads  (Read 2646 times)

markd

• CBT Wobbler
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • View Profile
brake disc and pads
« on: 03 April 2012, 09:59:09 pm »
Hi guys newbie here any advice on changing front brake disc and pads also  replacing. Speedo never done  it before been told its easy all. Advice gracefully received

thanks in advance

markd
« Last Edit: 03 April 2012, 10:21:24 pm by markd »

unfazed

• GP Hero
  • Never ride faster than your guardian angel can fly
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • - FZS1000 05-06, Serow 2000
    • View Profile
Re: brake disc and pads
« Reply #1 on: 03 April 2012, 10:49:50 pm »
Download the manual here first: http://foc-u.co.uk/index.php?action=downloads;cat=2
Would suggest you purchase or get a loan of a good torque wrench when refitting the discs. Disc bolts can be difficult to remove as they have thread locking agent on them. Very easy to over tighten disc bolts as they are only 23NM torque and strip the threads in the wheel. You need thread locking agent when refitting the disc bolts. Clocks are easy to change, remove the screen, remove the wiring plug and remove 3 nuts. Lift  clocks off. Careful not to over tighten screen bolts on refit. What is wrong  with the speedo?

markd

• CBT Wobbler
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 03 April 2012, 10:58:39 pm »
Not working foot know if its ceramic or cable

kebab19

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 04 April 2012, 11:57:31 am »
Heat the existing disc bolts beforehand with a butane torch to soften the Loctite, then whack 'em immediately with a good fitting impact driver & they should loosen off a fraction without rounding. As mentioned, use a torque wrench to re-set the disc bolts to correct spec