Date: 08-05-24  Time: 04:10 am

Author Topic: stiff/sticky rear brake  (Read 1177 times)

scottomus0

• CBT Wobbler
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • View Profile
stiff/sticky rear brake
« on: 24 November 2012, 08:15:14 pm »
evening guys,

just a quick question.

not used my bike for over a week due to being away, left it out without its cover on (not end of world!)

got back on it other day and it soon came apparent that my back brake wasnt really working, felt really stiff putting pressure on it.

it was working at a slow pace, but felt as though i had to force it back up!

whats causing this? bit of rust due to weather?

many thanks

Fuzzy

• WSB Pack Hound
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: stiff/sticky rear brake
« Reply #1 on: 24 November 2012, 09:13:07 pm »
I'm not a mechanic nor the most knowledgeable but I would hazard a guess and say, after a thorough check for obvious signs of something amiss, that an inspection & clean of the caliper might be a good starting point.

The calipers on the Fazers, especially the rear one, are prone to getting sticky pistons and are the most vulnerable at this time of year because of the lovely weather.

The way I do a "troubleshooter" is:

• Check for obvious signs of a problem. E.g. damage to anything in the system, from caliper, disc & hoses to the lever. If nothing is found:
Removal
  • Take caliper off.
  • Take pads out. Ensure the pads don't get any dirt, grease etc on them.
  • Check condition of what is visible, paying attention to the pads, pistons and pins.
Pads
  • Over worn? Replacement necessary? Are both pads wearing at the same rate? If not, this might point you towards the piston that is sticking. Ideally both pistons should push on the pads equally, the wear should reflect that.
Pistons
  • The objective is to ensure the pistons are moving freely and give them a clean.