Date: 18-05-24  Time: 13:31 pm

Author Topic: Down pipes and exhaust modification?  (Read 2893 times)

ggvalchev

• Cager in Training
    • Main bike:
      I don't own a bike
    • View Profile
Down pipes and exhaust modification?
« on: 22 June 2015, 07:38:39 pm »
Okay, I'm new...right good we got that out of the way.

Now I've been keeping an eye on this forum and it's been a massive help with several topics...like the dual head light mod for instance.

Now I'm really curious as to know what would happen if say for instance you decided to modify your exhaust.
I'm a newbie right so I'm asking questions that may not be very smart so give me some leeway.

So say for instance you want to modify your down pipes as such....

Cylinders 1 and 4 go into 1 pipe and cylinders 3 and 2 go into 1 pipe with a connection between, to keep power and torque delivery at an acceptable level.
So the system is technically 4 into 2 into 2 but they way the pipes are arranged is different to what people usually do.
Usual system is 1 and 2, into 1 pipe, and 3 and 4, into 1 pipe, and all that into 1 pipe. Or 4 into 2 into 1. which is the fzs600 exhaust system.
And so I'm really curious to know what it's going to sound like...

I'm looking to achieve a deeper rumbling sound out of an inline 4, which I know people say you can never change and it's always going to sound a like a bee.
But if you check the R1 with the Two brothers exhausts it wounds really nice, and not only that...this guy I don't know what kind of pipes he is using but it sounds amazing at low revs.
! No longer available

It's strange it's the same firing order as the fzs600 1-2-4-3 but it's such a massive difference.

Any thoughts ?
« Last Edit: 22 June 2015, 07:40:56 pm by ggvalchev »

riedrider

• Weekend Warrior
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • - TDM850, BT1100, NTV650, R100R
    • View Profile
Re: Down pipes and exhaust modification?
« Reply #1 on: 22 June 2015, 07:51:46 pm »