Date: 28-04-24  Time: 07:43 am

Author Topic: New chain & sprockets  (Read 3820 times)

andyajaxfreeman

• Cager in Training
    • Main bike:
      FZ1 Faired Gen2
    • View Profile
New chain & sprockets
« on: 28 March 2013, 05:13:44 pm »
Hi all! I'm new to biking, had my fazer 600 (2005) since October last year. My local bike dealer and also a friend with some knowledge about bikes told me I need a new chain soon..ish. Also advised to change the sprockets at the same time.
Now I would like to become more mechanically minded and with the help of someone who knows what they are doing I would like to replace the chain and sprockets myself. Do any of you think this is unwise? If you think it's best for me to get my bike dealer to do this for me then I would appreciate your input.
Anyone who thinks its okay to do this myself with help from someone who knows what they are doing then what chain and sprockets would you recommend/where to buy them from?
Cheers, andy

Grahamm

• Global Moderator
  • GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
    • Affordable Leather Products
Re: New chain & sprockets
« Reply #1 on: 28 March 2013, 08:43:17 pm »
Definitely always change the chain and sprockets together, doing only one is liable to cause wear on the other, shortening the life of both.

Last time I got mine done I was hoping to do what you wanted, ie get someone to coach me through the process, unfortunately I couldn't get that sorted out, but if you can learn from someone who knows what they're doing then you should be able to do it yourself the next time :)

AdieR

• Club Racer
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 S2 07-09
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 01 April 2013, 12:00:11 am »
The chain and sprockets should come as a complete kit (front sprocket, back sprocket and chain), so do the lot together.