Date: 25-04-24  Time: 10:12 am

Author Topic: How to diagnose sticky brake piston?  (Read 3628 times)

Jamieg285

• Club Racer
  • What does this do?
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • View Profile
How to diagnose sticky brake piston?
« on: 06 June 2012, 09:04:08 am »
I'm new to bike mechanics, so am looking for some advice.

I've not ridden for a number of years and have had my Fazer for a couple of weeks now. To me it appears that the back brake is weak, and from reading on here out might have a sticky piston.

I want to know how I can confirm this, without having to strip it down too much. I need the bike to be useable, so can't take things apart unless I have the parts to put back again. If it's knackered and I need seals, pistons etc. I'd rather keep the money and put it toward a blue spot caliper.

Also, what's the average price for the caliper these days?

darrsi

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: How to diagnose sticky brake piston?
« Reply #1 on: 06 June 2012, 01:51:46 pm »
This is a simple one just for starters, get some degreaser spray, or i s'pose even WD40 (just avoid overspray on rear disc), and clean out the joint of the rear brake foot lever.
I clean mine every few months and really notice a difference when it's done.
I normally use the spray then oil or grease it back up afterwards.
It tends to get clogged up quite easily as i ride in all weathers, and if you haven't done it before it could cause a spongy feeling.
Definitely worth 2 minutes of your time......

More people are born because of alcohol than will ever die from it.

Fazerider

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 06 June 2012, 03:08:20 pm »