Date: 17-05-24  Time: 13:34 pm

Author Topic: Newbie experience of first time replaced rear tyre  (Read 2305 times)

darren_uk

• Cager in Training
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • View Profile
Newbie experience of first time replaced rear tyre
« on: 01 September 2012, 07:20:26 pm »
I'm writing this hoping that it might help someone else.

I've had my Yamaha FZR600 2003 model for 4 months and it needed a new rear tyre.

I've had one of these fitted as I'm a commuter:
http://www.ityre.com/en/tyres/catalog/avon/model/21381/
Avon AV56 Storm AT 2 Ultra [/color]160/60ZR17 - pumped to 40psi[/font]

I'd heard about new tyres being very slippery and so I was naturally worried.   I work with a colleague whose only motorcycle accident was when he'd just put a new rear tyre on and he lost it on the first corner.  I heard from the place that fitted my tyre that they see so many people losing it as they leave their place.

So I was worried, especially given I'm still a newbie to bikes:  despite having a licence for 2 years I was a Sunday only cruiser (ex Midnight Star owner) and it's only been these last 4 months that I've needed to commute.  I've done 2500 miles these last 4 months.

I left the tyre fitter today and went for a ride.

And nothing happened.   I've just done 30 miles and absolutely nothing.   I ought to mention that I am a bit of a granddad when I drive so perhaps that had something to do with it:   I only open it up on straights; but come back down again to take corners probably with less than a 10 degree lean angle - or at least that's how it feels.

25 miles into the ride I stopped and looked at the state of my rear tyre.   It looks like I'm just riding on half of the tread - so I'm not leaning over very much.  the outer two quarters look untouched.

So there you have it:  if my newbie, worrying experience is helpful:   it seems that you don't need to ride as if you're on an ice-rink - just ride conservative as I do anyway.

Hope this helps.