Date: 27-05-24  Time: 08:24 am

Author Topic: Urgent landline help needed please!  (Read 5335 times)

Tori

  • Tent Pole Erector / Truck Hunter
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,955
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Urgent landline help needed please!
« on: 07 October 2012, 11:59:40 am »
I am trying to find a fault with ma's home phone. If I call her phone, it rings once and disconnects, even though phone will show a timer as if it's connected. I have disconnected a second phone out of a socket upstairs. The main socket has a test socket inside, I've plugged directly into there, same problem. Southern say there is no fault on the line. Would this mean the fault is in wiring in the house? It worked perfectly before! I'm at a loss!

limax2

  • Creep.
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,929
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #1 on: 07 October 2012, 12:19:45 pm »
The only clue I can offer is that the ringing takes more current than when the phone is answered. So a bad connection can sometimes let the phone ring once but then the connection breaks down. Just the opinion of a total non expert on this subject, but that happened to me after I had stuck a spade through the under ground cable. Worked ok after I repaired it but then a few weeks later the damp got in and the above fault happened.

robby boy

  • WSB Pack Hound
  • *****
  • Posts: 914
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - Triumph Sprint ST 1050
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #2 on: 07 October 2012, 03:00:28 pm »
Just a thought, but have you tried plugging the upstairs phone into the test socket, could be a fault in the phone itself, again I am no expert.

If you worried about falling off your bike, you'd never get on.

Tori

  • Tent Pole Erector / Truck Hunter
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,955
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #3 on: 07 October 2012, 03:37:08 pm »
The test socket has now had two phones in it :(

John Silva

  • WSB Pack Hound
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #4 on: 07 October 2012, 03:52:47 pm »
How about trying a phone that you know that works from another house, to try in the socket Just to rule out the phones.
If the new phone doesnt work its the house socket or cable thats bad.
Its normally the outside cable letting in moisture thats usually the problem.

Not that im any form of expert on anything  :\
Biking is about the Journey NOT the Destination...

Tori

  • Tent Pole Erector / Truck Hunter
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,955
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #5 on: 07 October 2012, 04:03:34 pm »
When the old phone didn't work, I tried it in the test socket, it didn't work. I assumed the phone was broken as Southern has said there was no fault on the line. So I bought a new phone, and this does not work on the test socket either.

So now the question is, if the fault is the socket, I'm guessing I need someone in  to fix it at a cost? Or if the fault is on the line (Which runs from and to?) the supplier needs to pick up the bill? Thanks.

bwizz

  • Club Racer
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - FZS600 02
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #6 on: 07 October 2012, 04:06:18 pm »
I had a similar situation after having a room decorated , just waggling a wire running down to a socket  and all was well

Shadrack

  • DAS Born Again
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 S2 07-09
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #7 on: 07 October 2012, 06:10:32 pm »
If the outside line goes to that socket that is the master socket and is the responsability of phone company
On bt lines dial 17070 press 1 and hang up should ring back ( I think this works on most lines)

If phone not ringing from skt inside master skt most likely line fault

Do'nt for get if line is broadband enabled you will need to insert filter



Tori

  • Tent Pole Erector / Truck Hunter
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,955
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #8 on: 07 October 2012, 06:22:03 pm »
Master socket goes straight outside. Test socket still rings once and stops. I feel like I've been fobbed off with 'there's no fault on the line' :( There is no internet at ma's place, so it seems a simple enough thing to test, but it's a fault our end apparently. I'll call them again tomorrow. Thanks.

SteveH41

  • DAS Born Again
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #9 on: 07 October 2012, 06:27:32 pm »
cheap option, get a new nte5 linebox off ebay,

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Nte5-Master-Socket-Latest-Openreach-Type-FREE-backbox-and-inserter-tool-/270948756977?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item3f15cdedf1

piece of cake to fit, could be the master socket capacitor failing (a guess here) and it's cheaper than calling BT out. worth a punt for a few quid.



dazza

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,424
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - MT10
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #10 on: 07 October 2012, 06:35:28 pm »
I think that someone on here might suggest that you are possibly being bugged :eek  It hasn't gone all "Rusty" on you has it. :pokefun

Tori

  • Tent Pole Erector / Truck Hunter
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,955
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #11 on: 07 October 2012, 08:55:10 pm »
As long as the CCTV man hasn't been here I don't mind!! :lol :lol

alan sherman

  • FOC-U Pimp Daddy and
    Sick Note
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,812
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #12 on: 07 October 2012, 10:19:10 pm »
If the phones do not work in the test socket then get an engineer out.  The master socket and wiring up to it actually belongs to the phone company so if that is the problem then it is their responsibility to fix.  However - you mention a socket upstairs, if fitted correctly that should come off the face plate that is removed from the master socket to get to the test point.  If it has been bodged into the back of the test socket then you'll get charged!

Tori

  • Tent Pole Erector / Truck Hunter
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,955
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #13 on: 07 October 2012, 10:30:12 pm »
Upstairs is actually an add on adapter in the front of the main socket, so that's all completely pulled out when using the test socket. So can I be pretty sure it's a fault the phone company should cover? Thanks.

chaz

  • WSB Pack Hound
  • *****
  • Posts: 789
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #14 on: 08 October 2012, 12:16:51 am »
my sister had same trouble when you phoned it rang once if she didn't answer it in time it sounded like rushing water, talktalk said it wasn't the line, she had all the extensions renewed, still the same it went on for weeks got her own engineer to check it, it was on the line, talktalk had to pay all her costs and loss of use.
So if you've removed all extensions and plugged a working phone into the incoming socket, its down to them, threaten them with ofcom if thats the telephone ombudsman.

BBROWN1664

  • Administrator
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 13,100
  • Should get out more!
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • - Tracer 900
    • View Profile
    • My website
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #15 on: 08 October 2012, 04:44:25 am »
:agree

The master socket belongs to BT or whoever. If the phone can make outgoing calls then the line is probably OK but with a known working phone in the socket it doesnt ring then the problem is likely to be the master socket.

Out of interest, if you have no phones or extensions plugged in do you get the same issue?

If so, it is definitely a master socket issue as from a callers perspective it makes no difference if there is a phone plugged in or not, they will just get a ring tone.
Another ex-Fazer rider that is a foccer again

Tori

  • Tent Pole Erector / Truck Hunter
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,955
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #16 on: 08 October 2012, 08:37:27 am »
If I unplug everything how do I know if I still have the problem? There's no phone to ring?!

locksmith

  • FOC-U Official Selfish Bastard
    A bit of a cheapskate
    imageJune 09
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,947
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - MT-09 :)
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #17 on: 08 October 2012, 09:30:39 am »
Ring it from your mobile and see if you get a ringing tone!

As said above if a known working phone is not working in the test socket and you have not botched any wiring behind that then it is definately down to your phone company.

BBROWN1664

  • Administrator
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 13,100
  • Should get out more!
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • - Tracer 900
    • View Profile
    • My website
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #18 on: 08 October 2012, 10:26:32 am »
Tori, the line will still ring and the caller will still think there is a ringing phone plugged in.
Another ex-Fazer rider that is a foccer again

BBROWN1664

  • Administrator
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 13,100
  • Should get out more!
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • - Tracer 900
    • View Profile
    • My website
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #19 on: 08 October 2012, 10:29:57 am »
I take it as the caller you hear it ring once and then nothing

If it does ring properly (for the caller) with no phone then it will still be the master socket. It is probably the capacitor that has failed.
If it rings once then stops as it does with the phone plugged in it could be the master socket or a line issue.

Either way, prove it to yourself and then when the engineer finally does turn up and blames the handset you can tell them "what has the handset got to do with it when it isnt even plugged in?"
Another ex-Fazer rider that is a foccer again

Chillum

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,224
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - Currently bikeless
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #20 on: 08 October 2012, 10:37:50 am »
If you get trouble with the BT helpdesk, ask them to explain what could be wrong when you are using a known good phone in the test socket and still get these results.

If they say 'I don't know' then you can respond with 'Well how the ****ing hell am I supposed to know then? Your the 'phone' company.

Since they won't be able to answer that they'll send an engineer out.

Tori

  • Tent Pole Erector / Truck Hunter
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,955
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #21 on: 08 October 2012, 04:45:27 pm »
With everything unplugged it rings once and cuts out :( Phone company tomorrow! Will keep you updated thanks!

Robbie8666

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,242
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - Triumph NightStorm
    • View Profile
    • RNVMCC
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #22 on: 11 October 2012, 08:26:56 am »
any news on ur little problem?
was it the line?
It ain't what you ride, it's who you ride with!!!

Tori

  • Tent Pole Erector / Truck Hunter
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,955
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #23 on: 11 October 2012, 10:21:05 am »
I've not had time to get to ma's and speak to the phone company yet :( Job for tomorrow!

Tori

  • Tent Pole Erector / Truck Hunter
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,955
    • Main bike:
      FZ6 04-06
    • View Profile
Re: Urgent landline help needed please!
« Reply #24 on: 15 October 2012, 12:39:14 pm »
Finally got somewhere! Phoned southern again telling them the problem. They then text saying the fault is on the line, they don't need access to the house and they can't fix it until the 18th. Useless!! But at least it'll be fixed then hopefully!