Date: 19-04-24  Time: 22:26 pm

Author Topic: Gen 1 1000 Headlamp faults  (Read 1067 times)

Gaz66

• Weekend Warrior
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - VFR800 Fi (1999)
    • View Profile
Gen 1 1000 Headlamp faults
« on: 30 April 2017, 09:47:58 am »
Hi Peeps
I'm new to Fazers.

Having some electrical gremlins.
Just unpicked a right rats nest of Meta alarm loom bodging.
Alarm had failed before I got the bike, alarm multi-plug had the usual bypass bridging wire (poorly done).
Anyway alarm looms out, both of the alarm multi-plug connectors in the bikes loom under seat have been put back & bridged as per factory spec, bikes a runner.

For some reason I've lost live feed to dip/main beam & dash clocks illumination?.
Could just be a coincidence that some other fault is present, but lights worked prior to removing alarm loom.

Struggling to find what the unused 3pin connector is for next to alarm multi-plug connectors in bikes loom?.
Tested, I have 2 earths & a switched live
Is it for accessories
Any ideas pls?
I suspect ignition switch is faulty? Yet to confirm.
I'm just on with working thru loom.
Headlamp relays test correct as per manual.
Everything works except dip/main & dash clocks illumination.

Finding corroded pins in multi-plugs above rocker cover, removing male/female pins to clean.
Is this a known headlamp fault based on the issues I'm having?

Any helpful ideas are very much appreciated.
Rgds
Gaz
« Last Edit: 30 April 2017, 09:57:31 am by Gaz66 »

tommyardin

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      I don't own a bike
    • View Profile
Re: Gen 1 1000 Headlamp faults
« Reply #1 on: 30 April 2017, 03:03:02 pm »

Hi,
 I don't know if its the same setup as The FZS600 Foxeye but this might be helpful, as I experienced a head lamp and instrument lighting problem about 2.5 years ago