Date: 27-04-24  Time: 14:08 pm

Author Topic: Valve Clearance Check  (Read 1755 times)

dickturpin

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • View Profile
Valve Clearance Check
« on: 19 June 2013, 11:23:09 am »
I want to do a valve clearance check....something I have never done before. (Bike now done 26k miles).
I have looked at the service manual and want to have a go myself but just wonder about a couple of things.
Is access easy enough? The AIS is removed.
Will I need new gaskets?
How long should it take me?....Oh, that's three things!

Anything else for a 'first timer'?

Thanks

D

Dave48

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - MT-07 Tracer
    • View Profile
Re: Valve Clearance Check
« Reply #1 on: 19 June 2013, 02:19:59 pm »
Theres enough clearance to get the camshaft cover out-much easier with  AIS already off!  The rubber sealing gasket for cover should be OK-you may need to add some instant gasket to half moon shaped areas where the gasket locates in top of cylinder head. Oh yes-you will need to remove the timing rotor cover to turn the engine whilst checking valves-so good idea to replace the paper gasket. Easier to see whats going on with (empty?) fuel tank raised & supported or removed. Time?-how often do you need a cup of tea/fag break? At least your not billing yourself  :lol  but allow plenty of time. Remember its 1-2-4-3-but you knew that didn't you!

Falcon 269

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - Yamaha R1 1999
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 19 June 2013, 02:53:48 pm »
You might get lucky and have the timing cover gasket survive without tearing.  If you fit a new one, grease both sides so you can remove it again in the future.

http://www.yamahafz1oa.com/fastfranksvalvecheckadjustmenttips.shtml

I'd remove the tank to make everything more clearly visible.  You might need to shuffle a few things around over the head to get the cover off but take your time and it's do-able.