Date: 16-05-24  Time: 00:23 am

Author Topic: New member  (Read 1521 times)

dooz

• Cager in Training
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • - BMW K100RS
    • View Profile
« on: 26 July 2013, 08:01:49 pm »
Hi guys.
First of all let me introduce myself. I am of 1952 vintage, so I guess that will make me one of your older members. I have a 2001 Fazer 600 which I bought 4 years ago and which has covered only 15,000 miles. I had one new in 2000 and thought it was a great bike, but things cropped up and it had to go. I have been riding bikes on the road for the last 44 years. I have owned about 30 bikes in all and have only been without one on three occasions, once for nine months and twice for six months.
I take part in the Round Britain Rally either on one of my bikes (the other is a 25 year old BMW K100RS but I hope you won't hold that against me) or in a Lomax 3-wheeler (ditto). My wife used to ride her own bike (BSA Starfire, Suzuki GT500A & Virago 535) but had to give it up on doctors orders. She can't even ride pillion anymore so the Lomax is the only way that she can take part in the rally.
I have always done all of my own servicing and maintenance, and saw your forum when I returned from Europe last weekend with gearbox problems   :o . I thought that someone may have experienced the same problems and could help with a diagnosis. So here goes.