Date: 30-07-21  Time: 11:32 am

Author Topic: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8  (Read 8321 times)

FazerPete

  • CBT Wobbler
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • - Fazer 8 ABS
    • View Profile
Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« on: 04 May 2012, 12:04:56 pm »
HI guys
 
Well the time came for me to part company with my trusted 2002 FZS 600.  She served me well but after 44,000 miles (and a quote of £500 labour to fix a busted exhaust engine bolt - labour alone) it was clear she was not going to last another year save me spending serious dosh on her.  So there she went as a part chop for the new Fazer 8.  Regrets - none so far but early days!
 
Anyway, taking into account that I was given the square root of zero as a part chop I decided to strip as many accessories off the bike before I exchanged and where necessary place on E-bay.  One piece was my trusted Datatool Digi Gear.  I had previously managed to wire her up to the FZS and it proved very trustworthy and I utilised it more than the speedo and rev counter.  So now the time has come for me to attempt putting her into the Fazer8.  Armed with the wiring diagram (thanks guys) I am still left wondering what wires go to where!
 
Is there anyone in here that can provide a basic "this colour wire on the bike goes to this colour wire on the digi gear"?
 
Thanks
 

Dave48

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,557
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - MT-07 Tracer
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #1 on: 07 May 2012, 09:39:37 am »
Dont know about Datatool version but I recently bought @ bargain price an Acumen Digital gear indicator which came with wiring diagram. I was reluctant to cut into the wiring loom so phoned Acumen who supplied a plug & play connector assembly that only needed fitting to the back of the instrument cluster-no surgery necessary. Why not contact Datatool & see if they do a similar item?

FazerPete

  • CBT Wobbler
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • - Fazer 8 ABS
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #2 on: 08 May 2012, 07:37:04 pm »
Cheers.  Will do.  Will update with their reply.
Thanks

FazerPete

  • CBT Wobbler
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • - Fazer 8 ABS
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #3 on: 09 May 2012, 02:20:16 pm »
OK here is what I have been told:
 
Digi Colour Black to FZ8 Black - Earth
Digi Colour Red to FZ8 Red/Green - Live
Digi Colour Yellow to FZ8 Red/White - Tachometer (Rev counter)
Digi Colour Green to FZ8 Yellow/Blue - Speedo
Digi Colour Brown to FZ8 Blue/White - Neutral
Digi Colour Orange - not connected
 
Will update when I have the nerve to giving it a go!

Humpalong

  • Cager in Training
  • Posts: 2
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #4 on: 09 June 2012, 10:30:25 pm »
Hi Peter
I took my 8 in to the local dealer yesterday and after six hours work they have been unable to fit the Datatool Digi!
I am wondering how you got on fitting yours - dId you have any problems etc or was it fairly straight forward.
I paid them half of what they wanted, but any information you may have would be helpful! Apparently they found that after contacting Datapool they were no wiser and also commented on how unhelpful they were!!
I look forward to hearing your comments.

FazerPete

  • CBT Wobbler
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • - Fazer 8 ABS
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #5 on: 14 June 2012, 12:24:56 pm »
Hi
Interesting!  No I have not had the chance to give it a go yet.  I don't suppose you pointed out the wiring colour scheme to them did you?
I took the Digi Gear off my FZS 600 - where I had installed it myself with no problem.  However, whilst Data Tool were able to help with the FZS and provide the wiring mapping colours, when I contacted them this time I did get a response but all they did was referred me to their web site - which actually was no help at all.
I have traced the wiring scheme from the work shop manual that I got from this site.  Fairly confident it's right.
Were they not able to tell you why they couldn't get it to work?
 

Dave48

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,557
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - MT-07 Tracer
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #6 on: 15 June 2012, 08:26:17 am »
Thats why I went with the Acumen! Several points here-Presume your bike is still under warranty so how does your cutting & splicing into the loom affect this? All the dealerhad to do was identify the correct wires from wiring diagram and join up-6 hours that takes the biscuit! Any competent auto electrician should be able to do the job in an hour or so but if you cut into the loom & have subsequent gremlins how will you get round the warranty issue? Looms are definitely NOT CHEAP!
At least with the Acumen they manufacture bike specific plug & play looms that get round all these issues. £50 for digital gear kit(alright was reducedby dealer who says they no longer supply & hated fitting to bikes!) & £35 +p&p for plug & plasy from Acumen. Took 10 mins to fit & set up. :sun

FazerPete

  • CBT Wobbler
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • - Fazer 8 ABS
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #7 on: 15 June 2012, 10:26:38 am »
I've sent my circuit diagram with mapping to Scorpion for their advice.  Will update with their response - if received!

Dave48

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,557
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - MT-07 Tracer
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #8 on: 17 June 2012, 08:26:46 am »
Let us know the outcome,FazerPete. I know there are plenty of competent forum members but there are probably just as many who prefer not to resort to the knife and soldering iron. Also if you ever sell your bike & return to standard spec before sale or want to transfer digigear to new bike-give me push together connections any day! good luck! :)

FazerPete

  • CBT Wobbler
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • - Fazer 8 ABS
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #9 on: 17 June 2012, 10:13:14 pm »
No worries I will keep you informed.  Just need a decent weekend with nice weather as I dont have the luxury of a garage to work in.
Cheers

FazerPete

  • CBT Wobbler
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • - Fazer 8 ABS
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #10 on: 18 June 2012, 09:39:49 am »
Would you Adam and Eve it!  Looks like been given the green light from Scorpion (see below).  I will update you on how I get on in the next few weeks.
Cheers
Pete
 
"Looks good to me Peter according to what you have sent it should be ok
 Regards
 Tony
 Scorpion Automotive Ltd
 Tel:    +44 (0)1257 249928
 Fax:    +44 (0)1257 249938
 Email: tony@scorpionauto.com
 www.scorpionauto.com
 Disclaimer: This communication may contain privileged or other confidential information. If you are not the intended recipient, or believe that you may have received this communication in error, please reply to the sender indicating that fact and delete the copy you received. In addition, if you are not the intended recipient, you should not print, copy, retransmit, disseminate, or otherwise use the information contained in this communication.
 -----Original Message-----
 Sent: 14 June 2012 15:01
 To: Scorpion Automotive
 Subject: RE: Contact from datatool website
 Hi
 At last I managed to track down wiring circuit diagram for the 2010 Fazer 8.  I have managed to deduce the following:
 Digi Colour Black to FZ8 Black - Earth
 Digi Colour Red to FZ8 Red/Green - Live
 Digi Colour Yellow to FZ8 Red/White - Tachometer (Rev counter)
Digi Colour Green to FZ8 Yellow/Blue - Speedo
Digi Colour Brown to FZ8 Blue/White - Neutral
Digi Colour Orange - not connected
 From the attached would you agree?
 Thanks
 Peter"
 

Humpalong

  • Cager in Training
  • Posts: 2
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #11 on: 18 August 2012, 08:45:33 pm »
In June, just before a ride to the south of France from Edinburgh, I decided to fit a Digi to my 8. I bought it from a company on the internet bought asked my local Yamaha Dealer to fit it. The bike is still under warranty and I did not want to mess with the loom! The dealor did not have a wiring diagram for the 8 and after contacting Digi got very little help. Eventually they gave up and I returned the unit to the supplier asking them to confirm it was OK? It turned out that it was faulty. I  personally would only never bother with them again for this reason. The dealer wanted £300 for his wasted time but we settled on half. Still a wasted £150. Digi do not have any responsibilitiy for the fitting. My advice is that if you are thinking of a gear change indicator then stick with a plug type connection not a wire only type! If the vehicle is still under warranty then buy the unit from the dealer and get him to fit it! To be truthful, I haven't missed it!

Stormbringer

  • Weekend Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • - Main bike
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #12 on: 10 January 2020, 10:06:38 am »
I have a Data tool Digi gear indicator and my bike is at Yamaha having it fitted today .
 I Hope they can sort it .
Over Land and Sea

Stormbringer

  • Weekend Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • - Main bike
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #13 on: 12 January 2020, 10:11:47 pm »
All fitted but won't programme.
« Last Edit: 13 January 2020, 07:51:05 pm by Stormbringer »
Over Land and Sea

celticbiker

  • Club Racer
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #14 on: 14 January 2020, 08:33:35 pm »
I've had one sat on my shelf for about 8 years, meant to fit it to two tdm's and to my 8 but just never got round to it.
Got a quick shifter, a fixed front and rear camera dashcam, spotlights with tilt sensors and led bulbs to fit too. Don't think I'm going away this year so might get around to doing it all.
(\__/) This is bunny. Copy and paste
(x'.'x) bunny onto your page to help
(")-(") him gain world domination!

Stormbringer

  • Weekend Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • - Main bike
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #15 on: 14 January 2020, 08:51:10 pm »
The dealer can't get the data tool to hold programme on the data tool .
I've ordered a Glpro which gets much better reviews and is a more up to date design with some extra features.
What quick shift did you fit ?
Over Land and Sea

celticbiker

  • Club Racer
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #16 on: 14 January 2020, 11:02:39 pm »
(\__/) This is bunny. Copy and paste
(x'.'x) bunny onto your page to help
(")-(") him gain world domination!

Stormbringer

  • Weekend Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • - Main bike
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #17 on: 15 January 2020, 03:16:02 pm »
That is the same company that make the Gipro gear indicator .Healtech.

Over Land and Sea

Stormbringer

  • Weekend Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • - Main bike
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #18 on: 27 January 2020, 07:57:46 pm »
Gl pro fitted and works a treat .
Also did the duel headlight mod .


Wondering if I should fit led headlight bulbs ?
Over Land and Sea

RSi

  • Cager in Training
  • Posts: 2
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #19 on: 07 January 2021, 10:43:55 am »
Gl pro fitted and works a treat .
Also did the duel headlight mod .


Wondering if I should fit led headlight bulbs ?


How you getting on with the GiPro, thinking of investing it one.


With the dual headlight mod, is it just the right headlight that comes on in full beam.

celticbiker

  • Club Racer
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #20 on: 12 January 2021, 09:59:14 pm »
I think the bike got written off by a friendly car driver.
Yes on the headlight mod.
TBH though you don't need the mod, the dipped beam is fine if you set it up right. The only advantage of the mod is aesthetics.
(\__/) This is bunny. Copy and paste
(x'.'x) bunny onto your page to help
(")-(") him gain world domination!

RSi

  • Cager in Training
  • Posts: 2
    • Main bike:
      FZ8 11-
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #21 on: 18 January 2021, 10:29:45 am »
I think the bike got written off by a friendly car driver.
Yes on the headlight mod.
TBH though you don't need the mod, the dipped beam is fine if you set it up right. The only advantage of the mod is aesthetics.


Thanks for the reply.

Stormbringer

  • Weekend Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • - Main bike
    • View Profile
Re: Fitting a Digi Gear on a Fazer 8
« Reply #22 on: 11 March 2021, 03:16:50 pm »
A lot has happened in the last year .
I have totally rebuilt the Fazer 8.
I fitted a new clutch ,new exhaust studs ,new Yamaha  bodywork (Blue) anda Baglux blue tank cover ,Yamaha soft paniers, Yamaha Centre stand kit ,Ram mount for Garmin Zumo, Michelin tyres ,Yamaha chain and sprockets, uprated headlight bulbs ,  done the valve clearances  (needed 12 shims) overhauled the brakes including new fluid and pads .Fitted a new Black front Mud guard and Pyramid fender extender, lots of othger minor jobs .
 
Over Land and Sea