Date: 29-03-20  Time: 19:46 PM

Author Topic: Computer related  (Read 5909 times)

Kosmic Kartman

  • Photo comp trophy
    July & September 2010
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,394
  • Champion on two, three & four wheels
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - KTM640LC4SM, XRX125SM
    • View Profile
    • Trackart.co.uk
Computer related
« on: 28 July 2015, 10:33:27 PM »
To the Focer font of knowledge.

I'm in the process of putting a website together. All has been okay until this morning.

The problem is only on one desktop computer.

The site has some drop down menus when you hover over tabs with the mouse. The drop down menus work OK on two other PC laptops, a Mac, tablet and several smart phones. Of the ones that work I've tried different browser and all is working fine.

The problem is just on one PC that was working OK until this morning.

I've deleted browsing history, cookies, caches, and all the other tick box stuff you can delete, swapped mice, tried different browsers (Internet explorer and Firefox). Re-installed browsers but still can't get the drop downs to work.

The drop downs work on other sites and on the website editor/builder I'm using so I don't think it's web related as such plus I can work on the site from other PC's etc, publish the site and get it to work on other computers. Just can't seem to get it to work on this PC since this morning.

This is the site www.trackart.co.uk

The drop downs are on the tabs Canvas Prints, Photo Prints, and Original Art For Sale.

Any techs got any suggetions. Or let me know if they are not working on your browser.

Cheers KK  :'(
Some say that he eats habanero chilli peppers dipped in oil of capsaicin for extra bite and that his pyjamas are made from Nomex. All we know is, he's called Ad the Bad

mickvp

  • Global Moderator
  • GP Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,247
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #1 on: 28 July 2015, 10:38:25 PM »
try holding CTRL and pressing F5 for a cache refresh. might not fix it but it takes a second to try and is usually the first port of call for fixing any of these gremlins.

Works fine for me on Firefox BTW.

darrsi

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,970
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #2 on: 28 July 2015, 10:38:59 PM »
Upgrade it to Windows 10 tomorrow.  :thumbup


All works okay on mine.
More people are born because of alcohol than will ever die from it.

Kosmic Kartman

  • Photo comp trophy
    July & September 2010
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,394
  • Champion on two, three & four wheels
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - KTM640LC4SM, XRX125SM
    • View Profile
    • Trackart.co.uk
Re: Computer related
« Reply #3 on: 28 July 2015, 10:58:25 PM »
Tried that Mickvp with no joy.

Before upgrading to 10 I'll need to check that all my software will work with it... but at the end of the day I don't think that's the solution I'm looking for. Cheers.
Some say that he eats habanero chilli peppers dipped in oil of capsaicin for extra bite and that his pyjamas are made from Nomex. All we know is, he's called Ad the Bad

Frosties

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,477
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • - Tiger 900, CBF 1000,Bandit 650
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #4 on: 29 July 2015, 07:56:07 AM »
Works fine for me. Bit disappointed with the "Scrolling Nude" pic and the lack of prices "if you have to ask the price sir............."  :lol
 
Good luck fella.
Those are my principles...if you don't like them I have others.

Kosmic Kartman

  • Photo comp trophy
    July & September 2010
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,394
  • Champion on two, three & four wheels
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - KTM640LC4SM, XRX125SM
    • View Profile
    • Trackart.co.uk
Re: Computer related
« Reply #5 on: 29 July 2015, 08:43:19 AM »
Works fine for me. Bit disappointed with the "Scrolling Nude" pic and the lack of prices "if you have to ask the price sir............."  :lol
 
Good luck fella.

As it says "Under Construction"  ;)
Some say that he eats habanero chilli peppers dipped in oil of capsaicin for extra bite and that his pyjamas are made from Nomex. All we know is, he's called Ad the Bad

Dead Eye

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,753
  • What doesn't kill me, will only make me stronger.
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #6 on: 29 July 2015, 09:24:47 AM »
Looks like the drop down is controlled by JavaScript so I would take a guess and say that some security settings somewhere are stopping it from running (this is typically an issue in IE more than Firefox / Chrome though)

What Operating System are you using on the PC that doesn't work?

locksmith

  • FOC-U Official Selfish Bastard
    A bit of a cheapskate
    imageJune 09
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,947
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - MT-09 :)
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #7 on: 29 July 2015, 10:44:51 AM »
Works fine for me Win7 IE.

What website software are you using, I think yours looks really good :thumbup

Ah just scrolled down and seen the banner at the bottom!
« Last Edit: 29 July 2015, 10:46:38 AM by locksmith »

Val

  • WSB Pack Hound
  • *****
  • Posts: 981
  • Foccer-Wulf
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - MT09
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #8 on: 29 July 2015, 11:03:28 AM »
You have some "clever" browser security software installed there that has disabled JavaScript for "security" reasons.

Like IObit secirity malware apps or similar.

You can test that if you put this code on your html page:

<noscript> <META HTTP-EQUIV="Refresh" CONTENT="0;URL=ShowErrorPage.html"> </noscript>
Error page will tell your customer something: "You foccer enable the JavaScript will you??"

You can test your site for browser compatability here: https://www.browserstack.com/

Adrian Monk: Unless I'm wrong, which, you know, I'm not.


clayt74

  • Club Racer
  • ****
  • Posts: 396
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #9 on: 29 July 2015, 12:15:52 PM »
Are you using a wireless mouse??  I know it sounds daft but I had similar issues when my mouse power was low....... The mouse still appeared to work fine apart from drop downs, a new battery in the mouse fixed it!! (please don'task why cos I have no foccing idea)

Kosmic Kartman

  • Photo comp trophy
    July & September 2010
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,394
  • Champion on two, three & four wheels
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - KTM640LC4SM, XRX125SM
    • View Profile
    • Trackart.co.uk
Re: Computer related
« Reply #10 on: 29 July 2015, 12:21:09 PM »
The drop downs have now stopped working on all my devices running Windows 8.1. form this morning. Still working on the laptop running Vista and Mac running OSX 10.

On the devices that are not working the browsers are IE and Firefox.

On the devices that do work the browsers are IE, Firefox, Safari, and what ever browser is on iPhone and Windows 8 smart phone.

I'll have a look later at the browser check site, but don't know when as I have a busy three weeks ahead, away and back on business several times then a trip to Paris. I need to leave this now and go pack a few bags for swift turnaround between trips. So will be ducking in and out of here.

In the meantime I'll send weebly a message and let them know to see if they can resolve it.

Cheers KK
Some say that he eats habanero chilli peppers dipped in oil of capsaicin for extra bite and that his pyjamas are made from Nomex. All we know is, he's called Ad the Bad

Kosmic Kartman

  • Photo comp trophy
    July & September 2010
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,394
  • Champion on two, three & four wheels
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - KTM640LC4SM, XRX125SM
    • View Profile
    • Trackart.co.uk
Re: Computer related
« Reply #11 on: 29 July 2015, 12:24:58 PM »
Are you using a wireless mouse??  I know it sounds daft but I had similar issues when my mouse power was low....... The mouse still appeared to work fine apart from drop downs, a new battery in the mouse fixed it!! (please don'task why cos I have no foccing idea)

Not wireless mouse. Swapped mice to see if that was the problem. On the Mac it's working okay with mouse and Wacom tablet and PC running Vista works with OK with hard wired mouse and wireless mouse.
Some say that he eats habanero chilli peppers dipped in oil of capsaicin for extra bite and that his pyjamas are made from Nomex. All we know is, he's called Ad the Bad

Dead Eye

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,753
  • What doesn't kill me, will only make me stronger.
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #12 on: 29 July 2015, 12:38:03 PM »
Val's solution is a good test to see if JavaScript is enabled

I would suggest doing something a little bit easier though;
Code: [Select]
<noscript>JavaScript is off</noscript>
Full Page:
Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
   <body onload="document.write('JavaScript is on');">
      <noscript>JavaScript is off</noscript>
   </body>
</html>

darrsi

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,970
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #13 on: 29 July 2015, 01:11:12 PM »
Val's solution is a good test to see if JavaScript is enabled

I would suggest doing something a little bit easier though;
Code: [Select]
<noscript>JavaScript is off</noscript>
Full Page:
Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
   <body onload="document.write('JavaScript is on');">
      <noscript>JavaScript is off</noscript>
   </body>
</html>


There's that language again that I just don't understand.  :(
More people are born because of alcohol than will ever die from it.

Dead Eye

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,753
  • What doesn't kill me, will only make me stronger.
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #14 on: 29 July 2015, 01:12:32 PM »
I speak probably up to a dozen languages... but generally only a computer understands me :'(

imax

  • Avatar Legend's Apprentice
    Top Banana
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,041
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #15 on: 29 July 2015, 02:01:56 PM »
Still working for me on Win 10/Firefox and Edge

Kosmic Kartman

  • Photo comp trophy
    July & September 2010
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,394
  • Champion on two, three & four wheels
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - KTM640LC4SM, XRX125SM
    • View Profile
    • Trackart.co.uk
Re: Computer related
« Reply #16 on: 29 July 2015, 03:27:59 PM »
Val's solution is a good test to see if JavaScript is enabled

I would suggest doing something a little bit easier though;
Code: [Select]
<noscript>JavaScript is off</noscript>
Full Page:
Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
   <body onload="document.write('JavaScript is on');">
      <noscript>JavaScript is off</noscript>
   </body>
</html>


There's that language again that I just don't understand.  :(

Klingon or Clangers?

And this code. Where do I type this code in?  In layman's beer drinking speak please. Step by step if possible.

The last website I built was using Dreamweaver or something like that. It was over 25 years ago and that didn't work either.
Some say that he eats habanero chilli peppers dipped in oil of capsaicin for extra bite and that his pyjamas are made from Nomex. All we know is, he's called Ad the Bad

Dead Eye

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,753
  • What doesn't kill me, will only make me stronger.
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #17 on: 30 July 2015, 09:10:05 AM »
It should be a simple case of;

1. Creating a new file (temp.html for example)
2. Pasting the above contents in to the file (the full page version is probably best)
3. Upload the file to your website's public folder (usually public_html or www)
4. Visit the file in your browser; e.g. http://www.trackart.co.uk/temp.html

sadlonelygit

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,123
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - katana 1100
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #18 on: 30 July 2015, 05:42:04 PM »
firefox and chrome ok on vista
The problem with socialism is that sooner or later you run out of other people's money!

Val

  • WSB Pack Hound
  • *****
  • Posts: 981
  • Foccer-Wulf
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - MT09
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #19 on: 30 July 2015, 06:27:45 PM »
It should be a simple case of;

1. Creating a new file (temp.html for example)
2. Pasting the above contents in to the file (the full page version is probably best)
3. Upload the file to your website's public folder (usually public_html or www)
4. Visit the file in your browser; e.g. http://www.trackart.co.uk/temp.html


You can test it on the computer that you have a problem without steps 3 and 4. Because Javascript is client side language you do not need a server.

Open Notepad. Copy/Paste this HTML code:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
   <body onload="document.write('JavaScript is on');">
      <noscript>JavaScript is off sorry mate</noscript>
   </body>
</html>

Click Save As, name it say testJS.html, by default Notepad will try to save it as txt text file, we need html page so make sure you change the selection in the Save As window in the dropdown on the right side from "*.txt" to "All". Click OK and save it somewhere on this PC.

Open the browser where your site is not working and go to File->Open find the saved file and open it.

If the Javascript is enabled you will see:

JavaScript is on

If not you will see:

JavaScript is off sorry mate

If that is the case go in browser security settings and enable it but remove the malware crap first.

EDIT: I have tested your site with Javascript disabled in my Firefox browser and can confirm the tabs menus are not working when the JS is disabled.


As a side effect I found very easy way for you to do the JS enabled test.

Just browse this: https://www.facebook.com

Apparently Facebook cannot work without Javascript and if it is disabled on your browser you will see facebook error page.

Means FB will test JS for you :-)

« Last Edit: 30 July 2015, 06:44:30 PM by Val »
Adrian Monk: Unless I'm wrong, which, you know, I'm not.


Kosmic Kartman

  • Photo comp trophy
    July & September 2010
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,394
  • Champion on two, three & four wheels
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - KTM640LC4SM, XRX125SM
    • View Profile
    • Trackart.co.uk
Re: Computer related
« Reply #20 on: 31 July 2015, 10:30:54 PM »
OK Facebook works ok.

I've updated Java and verified it.

I've made a note pad document with the below text and saved it to ALL files.

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
   <body onload="document.write('JavaScript is on');">
      <noscript>JavaScript is off sorry mate</noscript>
   </body>
</html>

There is also an option for encoding when I save the file. Options are.
ANSI
Unicode
Unicode big endian
UTF 8

It was set to ANSI

Anyhow I opened the notepad Doc in a new browser window and it just read as I had cut and pasted...

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
   <body onload="document.write('JavaScript is on');">
      <noscript>JavaScript is off sorry mate</noscript>
   </body>
</html>

I assume it should have said On or Off?

Do need to change the Encoding when saving the file to get this to work?

I can confirm the the website works OK on my brother in laws laptop running Windows 7 using both IE and Firefox.

I've been out today and tested the drop downs again and they worked if I clicked on them but the thumbnails didn't open. Then the dropdowns stopped working again.

I've heard back from Weebly and say that's it working at there end. I've been asked to sent a screen video of what's not happening. Waiting to hear back now.

I will add that the drop downs still work ok on the editing site just not on the live published site.

 :'(

Some say that he eats habanero chilli peppers dipped in oil of capsaicin for extra bite and that his pyjamas are made from Nomex. All we know is, he's called Ad the Bad

Dead Eye

  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,753
  • What doesn't kill me, will only make me stronger.
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #21 on: 31 July 2015, 11:08:56 PM »
The encoding shouldn't matter and ANSI is fine for now

Be aware that Java and JavaScript are two totally different languages and have very little to do with each other bar the name similarity. Updating Java does sweet fuck all to JavaScript ;) (which I don't believe you can update - just like you wouldn't update HTML)


As for your test, it sounds like the file got saved as something like "file.html.txt" or maybe just "file.txt" - follow the advice Val gave and make sure when saving under "All Files" that you manually set the extension as .html otherwise Notepad will just assume .txt

Kosmic Kartman

  • Photo comp trophy
    July & September 2010
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,394
  • Champion on two, three & four wheels
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - KTM640LC4SM, XRX125SM
    • View Profile
    • Trackart.co.uk
Re: Computer related
« Reply #22 on: 01 August 2015, 10:15:18 AM »
Thanks for that Val and Dead Eye.

Saved adding the 'html' file extension. Opened it browser window and Whoop Whoop it says JavaScript is on. So I guess that part is working OK.

Still waiting to hear from Weebly. Don't know where to go from here. I'm away from home at the moment so can't check if it's working on other puters or flaptops.
Some say that he eats habanero chilli peppers dipped in oil of capsaicin for extra bite and that his pyjamas are made from Nomex. All we know is, he's called Ad the Bad

Val

  • WSB Pack Hound
  • *****
  • Posts: 981
  • Foccer-Wulf
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - MT09
    • View Profile
Re: Computer related
« Reply #23 on: 02 August 2015, 02:10:04 PM »
I've been out today and tested the drop downs again and they worked if I clicked on them but the thumbnails didn't open. Then the dropdowns stopped working again.

I've heard back from Weebly and say that's it working at there end. I've been asked to sent a screen video of what's not happening. Waiting to hear back now.


Not good news. Let me explain. The dropdowns has been created by a mix of HTML code and JavaScipt code.

Booth the HTML code and JavaScript code are executed on the client side in your browser in your local PC. So the Weebly to say that is working on their end (the server that host the code) does not make any sense.

The only way you can find the issue would be some developer to debug the code to see what exactly is hapenning on your browser in your local PC. It is code created by Weebly - it make sense their developer to do that. Ask them.

Having said that the issue is hapenning because of some settings in your browser that prevents the code from running normally.

Restore the IE default settings and let us know the result. Follow the instructions here:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/923737

The browsers have many different versions. Go to the IE menu Help-> About andlet us know which vesrion IE you have on the PC that does not work?
« Last Edit: 02 August 2015, 02:15:47 PM by Val »
Adrian Monk: Unless I'm wrong, which, you know, I'm not.


Kosmic Kartman

  • Photo comp trophy
    July & September 2010
  • GP Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,394
  • Champion on two, three & four wheels
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - KTM640LC4SM, XRX125SM
    • View Profile
    • Trackart.co.uk
Re: Computer related
« Reply #24 on: 02 August 2015, 10:35:07 PM »
Hi Val

On the laptop and the PC that the drop downs aren't working on the browser is Internet Explorer 11 and Firefox 39.0

Think I know the answer to this already but would these settings or restoring IE effect Firefox? because the the drop downs don't work on either browser either.
Some say that he eats habanero chilli peppers dipped in oil of capsaicin for extra bite and that his pyjamas are made from Nomex. All we know is, he's called Ad the Bad