Date: 29-03-24  Time: 01:28 am

Author Topic: Centre Stand Refurb  (Read 1291 times)

HarryHornby

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
Centre Stand Refurb
« on: 28 September 2019, 01:56:47 pm »
Hi All,

I've had a replacement centre stand on my work bench for over a year now and today I finally went out, bought a spinney wire brush thing for my drill and got to it.  I now have a mostly shiny centre stand.

So, what do I do now?  I've never done anything like this before.  My questions are:

There are a couple of spots of surface rust, where I can't get to them.  Shall I  just cure rust those?

What primer should I use?  I'm guessing a rattle can, but what metal is the stand and do I need a certain type?

Thoughts on top coat?  Just black metal paint?

I'm guessing I don't want to spray too much paint around the mounting holes, or it won't swing up and down when on, correct?  So do I  just do a lite coat there?

The rubber bung thing that sits against the exhaust, leave in place and mask as best as possible or cut off and replace?

Sorry, prob  some silly  and over thought questions, I know, but, cheers as always.

Harry
« Last Edit: 28 September 2019, 02:31:24 pm by BBROWN1664 »
Money doesn't buy happiness, but it buys beer, and that helps!

bandit

• Club Racer
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • View Profile
Re: Centre Stand Refurb
« Reply #1 on: 28 September 2019, 02:39:03 pm »
I would cure the rust then hand paint or spray (as it's not seen I prefer to hand paint for thicker coverage) with a metal paint i.e hammerite smooth black gloss or satin, no primer required.

Lighter coat around mounting holes if it's gonna cause a problem & mask the rubber stopper.
« Last Edit: 28 September 2019, 02:46:42 pm by bandit »

Fazerider

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 28 September 2019, 08:56:16 pm »