Date: 28-03-24  Time: 15:21 pm

Author Topic: Hello from the rock  (Read 1351 times)

3legs

• Cager in Training
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • View Profile
Hello from the rock
« on: 21 August 2012, 08:24:27 pm »
Hello from the Isle of Man. Although I have been riding bikes for quite a few years now, this is the first time I have joined a forum - better late than ever!!
I am a mid fifties greying rider and have had two fazers, one naked FZ6 and two thundercats - I think there must be a link there somewhere. My current bike is a silver 2000 fazer 600 with about 24,000 miles on it. I really like touring on it and recently did a track day at Donnington. It was raining, so couldn't really give it stick. The fazer  has good acceleration and fantastic brakes. The back brake not too good though and I have just had new pistons and seals put in (about £85 using proper yamaha parts).
The thundercat is a seriously underrated bike and I once rode one non stop from Brno back to the IOM. I really don't think I would have preferred to have done it on any other bike - comfy and economical. I have just fitted a SP performance oval stainless can on the fazer and it gives a really nice deeper sound. I intend to keep the baffle in as I don't really like loud exhausts. It was only about £120 on ebay or direct with SP.
There are some great tips in this site and I look forward to posting further.

noggythenog

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - TRX Noggyfighter
    • View Profile
Re: Hello from the rock
« Reply #1 on: 21 August 2012, 09:58:07 pm »
Nice one mate, not sure if i have the authority as im a newbie to the forum but welcome anyway,

Its good fun reading some of the stuff on here, sometimes for the wrong reasons,

Its kinda like facebook except you dont hav to hear every single thing some girl u went to school withs babys been up to,

Good to hear youve gone back to the old fazer after experiencing some of the other brethren.