Date: 20-04-24  Time: 01:01 am

Author Topic: FZ1 Lennon's Mirror Eliminators  (Read 908 times)

jointbeaker

• Cager in Training
  • motorcycle enthusiast and 3d designer
    • Main bike:
      FZ1 Faired Gen2
    • View Profile
    • Shapeways Storefront
FZ1 Lennon's Mirror Eliminators
« on: 18 May 2019, 04:40:38 pm »
Morning - I made my first few posts in the 'Introduction' forum, and wanted to share these too.

My name is Mark Lennon, and I'm a packaging designer by trade. I also happen to love our fazers. This past year, I picked up a '09 faired FZ1, and began designing my own mirror block off plates. Over the past 8 months or so....I've gotten them to a point where I'm happy, and have began selling them online thru a 3d print house called Shapeways.

I've got a thread made over on the US forum (FZ1OA) but thought it'd be in my interest to reach out over here too. I didn't see any vendor forums or anything, so if a moderator says this isn't the right spot to post, please let me know.

I'll post a few photos below. Some of the 3d design process, some printed parts, and some parts other users have ordered, and painted...

Cheers. Mark
the Lennon Mirror Eliminator guy...

jointbeaker

• Cager in Training
  • motorcycle enthusiast and 3d designer
    • Main bike:
      FZ1 Faired Gen2
    • View Profile
    • Shapeways Storefront
Re: FZ1 Lennon's Mirror Eliminators
« Reply #1 on: 18 May 2019, 04:54:41 pm »
I've got two threads to look thru:

http://www.yamahafz1oa.com/forum/showthread.php?t=146853

http://www.yamahafz1oa.com/forum/showthread.php?t=146337

and some photos of the process: Design worked with a Romer 3d scanner, and designed in Solidworks 2019. Printed using Shapeways, in either New York, or Eindhoven Netherlands...

Cheers.

scanned a fairing in 3d

draw on top of the scan data to make the mirror delete plate

finish up the concept, and order half a dozen different prints over the next six months...

and end up with these: