Date: 29-03-24  Time: 01:42 am

Author Topic: rear brake - how much lever play before it bites?  (Read 2050 times)

Mike1962

• CBT Wobbler
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • - Suzuki dl250
    • View Profile
rear brake - how much lever play before it bites?
« on: 26 April 2019, 08:48:28 pm »
Hi

I'm still only a few hundred miles into my new (2002) fazer.  It's a really clean (looks brand new) machine and has  been very well looked after.  I'm totally new to the breed so this might be a naive question but...........

When in general traffic the rear brake is perfectly fine (ish) but I do feel that my foot has lots of travel before I feel a bite on the disc.  If travelling at say 60mph + and need some extra assistance when braking I feel the extra long travel together with the 'woolly' feel is a little uninspiring.

I've read a few threads........  but would like some opinions as to next steps.......

A  Bleed system
B  replace pads (not looked at wear yet)
C  replace with a blue spot rear
D  any combination of the above

let me know your thoughts

:)

BBROWN1664

• Administrator
  • GP Hero
  • Should get out more!
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • - Tracer 900
    • View Profile
    • My website
Re: rear brake - how much lever play before it bites?
« Reply #1 on: 26 April 2019, 09:25:52 pm »
Check the stop adjuster first
Bleed the brakes second.
Look at the hose and possibly replace that third.
Replacing the pads/calliper wont make a difference really.

Ultimately, the rear brake doesn't do a lot. Many people only actually press that pedal at MOT time. Personally, I find it quite useful for slowing down.
Another ex-Fazer rider that is a foccer again

darrsi

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 26 April 2019, 10:53:29 pm »
I service my rear caliper twice a year to keep it sharp.
Front's for slowing down but an accurate and responsive rear brake is great in traffic.