Date: 28-03-24  Time: 11:12 am

Author Topic: what to update?  (Read 2777 times)

Mike1962

• CBT Wobbler
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • - Suzuki dl250
    • View Profile
what to update?
« on: 22 February 2019, 06:59:39 pm »
Hi

I'm new to the Fazer.  I've just picked up a 2002 box eye 600.  it looks in mint condition but I'm sure there will be things to look out for/consider updating/replace with newer better versions?

So far I've done about 60 miles on a lovely dry sunny afternoon.  It's got Michelin Pilots fitted (not sure of which version but as the bike has obviously been well looked after I'm assuming not been on too long) with plenty of tread and they felt fine yesterday.

If anyone has any advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

His Dudeness

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      I don't own a bike
    • View Profile
Re: what to update?
« Reply #1 on: 22 February 2019, 07:31:32 pm »
Check your front sprocket nut. The original nut is 9mm wide. It's too small. It comes undone and ruins the threads on the output shaft. Yamaha made a 12mm nut to replace the 9 mm one. If you still have the 9 mm one you should change it  https://www.wemoto.com/parts/picture/yh-90891-10124

Braided brake lines are a good upgrade. There's a discount code on here for braided lines. You could get a k&n air filter and an end can for some more noise. There's a head light mod. http://foc-u.co.uk/index.php/topic,181.0.html There a R6 rear shock mod http://foc-u.co.uk/index.php/topic,8167.0.html
« Last Edit: 22 February 2019, 07:33:52 pm by His Dudeness »

Frosties

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • - Tiger 900, CBF 1000,Bandit 650
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 22 February 2019, 08:47:09 pm »
All best mods mentioned above. Don't bother trying to change airflow from changing screens - you'll fail....it is what it is.

Main question is how does the bike feel to you on idle, acceleration, mid range, braking, fork dive etc. ?????