Date: 28-03-24  Time: 11:29 am

Author Topic: New here  (Read 1769 times)

RikkiWilliams

• Cager in Training
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
New here
« on: 20 February 2018, 04:15:16 pm »
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the fazer have had a 2001 fzs 600 for a couple of weeks now and have some major issues with the gearbox, I only have neutral and one gear. Should I get the gearbox replaced or would a new engine be cheaper. Everything else seemed to be running fine before hand.
I have some basic mechanical knowledge but not enough to do the job myself.

Fazerider

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • View Profile
Re: New here
« Reply #1 on: 20 February 2018, 05:55:04 pm »

Hi Rikki, and welcome.
The fault may just be with the selector. If so, it is probably fixable without removing the engine as the drum and forks can be replaced from the side/underneath. The ratchet mechanism that nudges the drum round can also cause issues.
This link takes you to the problem I had and there is also a link in there to all-round spannering wizard Deefer's detailed description of the drum and forks replacement process. (Even if you don't want to tackle the job yourself it may help the mechanic you employ to do it.)

RikkiWilliams

• Cager in Training
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 00-01
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 21 February 2018, 07:19:49 am »
Thank you, I will open her up to see what I can do. That sounds exactly the same as my problem.

Fazerider

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 21 February 2018, 09:37:34 am »
It's also worth checking that the clutch is correctly adjusted of course, (apologies if that's teaching you to suck eggs).

robbo

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - Mk 1 Speed Triple
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 21 February 2018, 11:43:36 am »