Date: 29-03-24  Time: 12:09 pm

Author Topic: Time for a Change - MT-09  (Read 2953 times)

tony_d123

• Weekend Warrior
    • Main bike:
      FZ1 Faired Gen2
    • View Profile
Time for a Change - MT-09
« on: 17 September 2017, 09:28:55 am »
After 8 years of FZ1s ownership (and FZS600 before that) I decided that it was time for a change. The FZ1 has taken me all over Europe and has been a brilliant bike, which is why I have hung on to it so long, but I took a test ride on an MT-09 and was hooked!
The MT is a revelation to ride, enough power, light and handling is in a different league. Definitely puts a smile on my face.
« Last Edit: 17 September 2017, 09:29:52 am by tony_d123 »

celticbiker

• Club Racer
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • View Profile
Re: Time for a Change - MT-09
« Reply #1 on: 17 September 2017, 12:31:09 pm »
I had been riding tdm900's for 15 yrs and when thinking of a replacement I test rode the MT. The engine is a dream but like all yams the suspension is seriously lacking,  first job would have been to replace the rear shock cos it's way too soft and under damped and resprung and re valves the front.
When I walked into the dealers to buy one the fazer 8 was sat there and I couldn't resist it and as it was 2000 gbp cheaper than the MT that covered the cost of upgrading the suspension on it.
(\__/) This is bunny. Copy and paste
(x'.'x) bunny onto your page to help
(")-(") him gain world domination!

tony_d123

• Weekend Warrior
    • Main bike:
      FZ1 Faired Gen2
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 17 September 2017, 05:28:47 pm »
Was that a 2016 model? They have upgraded the front and rear suspension on the new one and I can't fault it.

celticbiker

• Club Racer
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 17 September 2017, 06:33:59 pm »
Yes, early 2016.
(\__/) This is bunny. Copy and paste
(x'.'x) bunny onto your page to help
(")-(") him gain world domination!

Dave48

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      Other