Date: 25-04-24  Time: 13:40 pm

Author Topic: Downshifting how do you do it?  (Read 4793 times)

Val

• WSB Pack Hound
  • Foccer-Wulf
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - MT09
    • View Profile
Downshifting how do you do it?
« on: 08 September 2017, 01:57:02 pm »
When I downshift I usually go down more then one gear. For example if I am in 5th or 6th I go down straight to 3rd or even 2nd. That gives me more stopping power.

In order to not potato myself I use clutch slipping. My process for decisive slow down is, say I am in 5th:

1. A little front brake.
2. Disengage with the clutch
2. 3 down shifts to 2nd.
3. Engage back with the clutch slipping it so that the force is smooth.
4. Final front brake.

I was not sure that is the right way to shift, but it works for me. I read that some guys saying they go very fast sequentially like 5th,4th,3rd,2nd gear.
My thinking was I am not a pro works for me this more then one gear down thing.

Then today I have watched MotoGP Petruci footwork. Big surprise I am not alone. Everybody is cheating and doing more than one gear down?   :lol

http://foccerwulf.blogspot.co.uk/2017/09/petruccis-fancy-footwork-notice-he-goes.html

How do you do your gear shift guys?

Any tips?
Adrian Monk: Unless I'm wrong, which, you know, I'm not.

fazersharp

• GP Hero
  • 10 stone Racing Snake
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • View Profile
Re: Downshifting how do you do it?
« Reply #1 on: 08 September 2017, 02:11:00 pm »
I couldnt say that I do it any particular way because I use all techniques in many different situations and if I am going slow enough then dont even use the clutch down to 2nd
I don't do rain or threat there of. dry rider only with no shame.

fazerscotty

• WSB Pack Hound
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 08 September 2017, 07:44:24 pm »