Date: 29-03-24  Time: 09:10 am

Author Topic: Fazer 1000 nitron or hyperpro whatever rear shock ??  (Read 7803 times)

celticbiker

• Club Racer
    • Main bike:
      Fazer8
    • View Profile
Re: Fazer 1000 nitron or hyperpro whatever rear shock ??
« Reply #25 on: 20 August 2017, 03:46:58 pm »
You are absolutely correct, I have no experience of the R6 shock on the FZ1 but I do have experience of it on the R6 and it's just awful there.
Like all Yamaha shocks I have encountered it is way under sprung and under damped. To this end I only respectfully suggest that a shock designed to work for a large variety of riders on a bike that only weighs 190Kg is not going to work as well on a bike that weighs 220kg with different swingarm/linkage geometry as a shock that is specifically built for a riders weight, bike and riding style/requirements.
Checking Luke's thread on the R6 mod shows that the majority of people are more than happy with the results, I suspect (Luke might be able to confirm) that the difference in geometry has the effect of firming the compression damping similar to when you fit shorter dog bones.

For those that aren't happy it will be more cost effective to get the R6 shock re-sprung, re-valved, and serviced to the riders specifications than buying a new shock, which will often lack the range of adjustment found on the R6 unit.

Of course at times we all suffer from the compulsion to buy something new and shiny and there's nothing wrong with that :D
Not suggesting anyone is wrong when they say they are happy with the R6 shock or that it is adequate. Just posting my personal view on the subject.
Compulsion to buy something new and shiny......
Yes well, it sometimes feels like most performance parts suppliers have direct access to my bank account and just send me anything new that comes in.