Date: 28-03-24  Time: 21:02 pm

Author Topic: Just bought a 1000 Fazer  (Read 19097 times)

reggit

• DAS Born Again
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - Yamaha350LC
    • View Profile
Re: Just bought a 1000 Fazer
« Reply #50 on: 12 August 2017, 06:45:26 am »

and I said last post a while back!

Anyway, the waterleak was from one of the pipes that run through the rocker cover, it wasn't sealing on the corroded metal pipe - seems good after being attacked by a bit of wet and dry.

Now leaking from the rad cap with a hot engine - I might get there eventually! 
edit: Thermostat's jammed shut, ok it's slightly opening but no where near fully, can't help but wonder who looked after this bike in the past!  Also sheared one of the stat housing bolts, so probably just get a replacement housing.  That's my rally out of the window :-(

Speedo still not working, but I popped the clocks apart to be greeted by an unmistakable smell of fried electronics - I'm an ex-electronics engineer, once smelled never forgotten.  Got a guaranteed working set of clocks on their way from a crashed bike, got 'em cheap as the mounting lugs are broken.  Hopefully that will cure it!  There's not much else it could be either - haha.  Found my old GPS, won't charge on it's bike mound but will from 240v and runs about 3 hours on battery - that'll do for Mr Plod until I get the bike speedo working.

« Last Edit: 12 August 2017, 10:41:20 am by reggit »

reggit

• DAS Born Again
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - Yamaha350LC
    • View Profile
« Reply #51 on: 19 August 2017, 09:40:19 am »

At last!

New clocks and 2 new sensors (all used) has it working!  1st replacement sensor worked initially, but died very quickly.  Suspect the fault on the original clocks killed it.

Replacement thermostat housing and 'stat fitted and she seems like she's good to go.