Date: 20-04-24  Time: 05:50 am

Author Topic: TPs or Carb Balance / idle jets  (Read 1367 times)

HydrocarbonPrimate

• Cager in Training
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • - Diversion
    • View Profile
TPs or Carb Balance / idle jets
« on: 24 March 2017, 08:37:22 pm »
I'm having some rough running issues at low speed, it seems to be slowly getting worse the bike is horrible to ride at low speed, jerky. I set the idle speed at 1250ish but after its warm it idles at 2,100 ish, It will stall when warming up sometimes. Is this a TPS issue or a carb balance issue or blocked idle jets?

I had a diversion before this and I spent ages messing around with carbs, only to find it was the ecu and other relay looking thing that has something to do with ignition, that was full of water and corroded inside, It runs sweet now.

I really hate working on bikes, I'm a mechanic all week I don't want to spend my weekends fixing my bike I just want to ride it!!

how do I check TPS do I just unplug it and the rev gauge should move? what should it move to?

I also have what feels like a stiff link in the chain at low speeds, Ive checked the front sprocket is tight and wiggled each link in the chain as I've lubed them but can't feel any stiff, am I just not moving them enough to "feel the stiffness"  :lol  or could it be something else?

His Dudeness

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      I don't own a bike
    • View Profile
Re: TPs or Carb Balance / idle jets
« Reply #1 on: 25 March 2017, 08:53:08 am »
The bike should be fully warmed up before you adjust the idle that's why it's going to 2100 when it warms up. The throttle position sensor test is on page 6-10 of this manual http://foc-u.co.uk/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=8 Sounds like more than a throttle position sensor issue. Has the bike been parked up for a while? The pilot jets sound like they might need a clean and balance.