Date: 26-04-24  Time: 03:28 am

Author Topic: CNC help required for final year Uni project  (Read 2502 times)

ChristoT

• Alleged Foc-u Daphnis & Chloe expert
  • GP Hero
  • Fluent in English, French and bullshit!
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • - Saab 9-3, caravan, hang glider
    • View Profile
CNC help required for final year Uni project
« on: 17 October 2014, 05:23:56 pm »
Afternoon Fazer fans!

As some of you may know, I'm an aerospace engineering student. I am now in final year, and heading towards employment - God help us all.  :eek I need some help with my final year project, and I wonder if anyone here can help.

For my final year project, I am working on a remote controlled aeroplane for an international competition: the BMFA Payload 3 Challenge. In essence, the team of four from my University have to design, build, test and compete a RC plane with a 2m wingspan, and carrying up to 4kg of dead weight payload. All powered by a single tiddly electric motor.

To me, the answer is obvious: make it out of carbon fibre. Thanks to my placement, I can make carbon fibre parts and their moulds. However, we need patterns. I'm going to approach several firms to ask for sponsorship for tooling block, but my team needs a CNC shop who can mill the block for us to our CAD models as the Uni's equiment is simply too small. Just to give an idea, each wing will be just shy of a metre long, and will need 2 moulds (and hence 2 patterns) each. We're going for a radical aerodynamic shape with a blended wing and body design, which means we will need comparatively fewer moulds for the entire aircraft.