Date: 19-04-24  Time: 20:35 pm

Author Topic: Should I shouldn't I ?  (Read 1329 times)

Par6

• DAS Born Again
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 98-99
    • - Honda dax
    • View Profile
Should I shouldn't I ?
« on: 28 February 2014, 09:43:07 am »
Hi all newbie here, I've got the chance to buy a 98 fazer 600, 40,000 miles fairly good nick, needs downpipes, £800.
I've had bikes for the last 34 years and for the last 10 have been down the classic jap scene route having restored x7's rds h1s etc, but have got a bit fed up of it all recently with a few breakdowns on ride outs, Z750 b1 electrical problem, dt175 holed piston, etc, you get the gist.
So basically I just need something fastish, reliable and pleasing to the eye. I've had several "modern" bikes, GSXR 750, aprilia rsv, z750 05 plate, and they've all left me feeling a bit flat. I'm not a fan of faired bikes or twins but like the smoothness of an inline 4.
I have always thought the fazer would look cool without the fairing and just a single round headlamp ( not those twin light jobbies), anybody done this ?
I've read quite a few posts on this site and the general consensus seems to be, change the bars, fit a more free flowing air filter, fruitier can and rear shock upgrade and bobs yer uncle, yes/no ?
On the face of it the bike I'm thinking of buying looks like a lot of bike for the money, think I'll just go for it, any advice ?
Cheers.

noggythenog

• GP Hero
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - TRX Noggyfighter
    • View Profile
Re: Should I shouldn't I ?
« Reply #1 on: 28 February 2014, 02:04:14 pm »
Welcome Par6, it's a great bike & a great forum & lots of veteran owners on here who swear by them & have owned multiple  :faz S after trying out other supposedly better bikes.they are pretty reliable bikes but still with a 98 it will be no spring chicken.those who do get unlucky seem to have problems with gearboxes jumping outta 2nd gear or developing hard to rectify stutters but they really are the minority.