Date: 25-04-24  Time: 21:35 pm

Author Topic: Not an absolute newbie . . . returning in need of assistance  (Read 1833 times)

ziggylamont

• Cager in Training
    • Main bike:
      Other
    • - Thundercat
    • View Profile
Not an absolute newbie . . . returning in need of assistance
« on: 16 December 2013, 06:57:59 pm »
Eight yrs ago my Fazer was written off and I replaced it with a thundercat. Until recently I have had no issues with the Thundercat and have only had to use the old Hayes Manual infrequently. :z

Over the last twelve months the Thundercat has been stalling while idling. Maybe someone can assist pls. :'( 

There are no power issues at all and the engine only cuts out while the bike is idling at lights. I have previously increased the idle but this does not address the problem. I have to increase the idle so much to prevent the engine from stalling that I'm at the point where the throttle takes too long to shut, and this has lead to dangerous emergency braking (throttle shutting too late when heavy braking - before being able to apply the clutch).I've ruled out fuel and air issues as the bike runs as good as it even has (v.smooth). Getting up to speed and holding speed is never an issue. It runs perfectly but just can't maintain an idle. Any useful suggestions would be more than welcome. Sorry for only returning to this forum for advice!  :o

andy352299

• Weekend Warrior
    • Main bike:
      FZS600 02-03
    • View Profile
Re: Not an absolute newbie . . . returning in need of assistance
« Reply #1 on: 16 December 2013, 07:04:55 pm »
try this site seem like a decent bunch
http://www.yamaha-thundercats.org/
also I am breaking a thundercat at the moment

Captain Haddock

• Club Racer
  • Miserable Foccer.
    • Main bike:
      FZS 1000 Gen1
    • - XT600E & TDM850 Mk2
    • View Profile
    • Gone boating!
« Reply #2 on: 16 December 2013, 07:13:54 pm »